SQL Server service startup failure

I just had a SQL Server service that didn’t start after a reboot of the machine. Error message: “The service did not start due to a logon failure. [0x8007042d]”. Hmm.

In the Local Security Policy editor the service account was no longer listed under the user rights assignment for Logon as a service. I discovered I had no permission to change that because it’s managed by a domain policy.

A search found this thread which helped me to sort it out. I tried resetting the service account from the SQL Server Configuration Manager and that didn’t fix the Logon as a service rights so I still had the same error. But when I reset the service account from Services in the Control Panel instead that re-applied the Logon as a service rights and the service started.

I still have no idea why that permission dropped off but at least now I know how to get it back again. It’s progress of a sort.

Leave a comment